Trackday question RE: Brakes and Mission Raceway

Ready to take your driving to the next level?

Trackday question RE: Brakes and Mission Raceway

Postby kweeman » Tue Jun 25, 2013 8:39 pm

Hey guys,

For those of you who run the Mission road course a lot, how hard is it on brakes?

Who runs stock brakes?

What pads?

How hard do you go at it (ie how many laps at maximum attack can you do before things start to fade)?

I did my first trackday last week. Being a novice i took it easy. One of the things I was worried about was fade and I was a really chicken when it came to hammering the brakes. I topped out at 160 on the front straight and just lifted way early (before the brake markers). I was 80% on the brakes for the first corner. I didn't get any fade but my rotors were pretty blue by then end of the session. I'm wondering what others experience?

Jeff
UBCSCC Past Treasurer 01-02?, UBCSCC Past President 98-00
----------
'00 Audi S4 BiTurbo - SM
'98 VW GTi VR6 D/SS - Sold
'86 Porsche 951- Sold
'83 VW GTi "Uber Bunny" - F/SP - Sold
'84 VW Jetta GLi - D/SP - Sold
kweeman
ex-ex-President

Re: Trackday question RE: Brakes and Mission Raceway

Postby thenorm » Tue Jun 25, 2013 8:53 pm

its very hard on brakes.
I've upgraded the brakes on my Focus to the 12" SVT brakes,
I use Halk HPS pads, but they are barely sufficient. (but they are my street/auto-x pads). I also use some brake ducting to avoid having to upgrade pads.
If i were more serious about track days, i would definately upgrade alot more (better ducting, higher temp pads)
Norman Hayton -
2014 Mustang GT in F Street
1999 BMW 323i for Rallycross
2011 FSP Canadian National Champion
2017 FS Canadian National Champion
thenorm
Pro-lurker

Postby solorex » Wed Jun 26, 2013 7:29 am