Ginger EF build

Share you car build or other projects you have going on

Ginger EF build

Postby ginger » Mon Jul 15, 2013 10:42 am

Hey everyone,

So I figured I would make a build thread as it usually keeps me motivated to work on my car and its fun to share my work with others.

Ill start with my background, my name is Kevan and Im going to school for mechanical engineering at UBC so funds on my build are quite tight at the moment and it forces me to make a lot of stuff myself. Ive been building my car for about 2 years now and autocrossing it for about a year of that. Its also my daily driver and has been holding up pretty well for the most part!

History on the car:

Picked it up for $250 from abbotsford with the engine in the back seat. Spent the first few weeks putting the engine back into the car and getting it drivable. Some early pictures:

sandblasted the valvecover, otherwise its a little messey

The worst part was the green interior! so I changed that out pretty quickly.
before:
after:

If you are wondering about the shift knob, I started turning it on my lathe but my motor burnt out so I was waiting on a new motor for quite a while. Its normal size now though, will grab a pic when I have a chance.

Also made myself a new horn button in the sandblaster
As I was poking around the body I checked the usual rust spots on ef’s and low and behold my finger went through

I cut back quite a ways and welded a new piece in and painted it back up. Its not perfect but hard to see from a ways back.

Always good to have someone to help you as well!

small accent to the valve cover